Nursing and Midwifery

The Schools of Nursing and Midwifery are Institutions of higher learning, operated by the Ministry of Tertiary Education and Skills Training, to provide Basic General Nursing Education, Basic Psychiatric Nursing Education, Nursing Assistant Training, Post Basic Midwifery Education and other Post Basic Nursing Specialties.

The schools are affiliated to the major teaching hospitals in North and South Trinidad, where learners are assigned to develop their clinical competencies. The courses of study are offered on a full time basis.

We are an equal opportunity learning Institution where persons of any race, colour, creed, political affiliation or religion are afforded all the rights enshrined in law. Our students are selected on the basis of their academic qualifications and performance at the selection interview.

The Nursing Council of Trinidad & Tobago is responsible by law for approving the syllabus of training, the Curriculum, the conduct of examinations, and the registration of persons who have successfully completed the Basic Programme of Nurse training and the Programme of Midwifery.

We are committed to providing a holistic education to all our students in an atmosphere that is conducive to learning. We recognize that students enter the Nursing Programme with a variety of educational, cultural and life experiences, hence the goal of the Nursing Programme is to help students assimilate the knowledge, judgment, skill and values of the professional nurse.

We exist in a diverse community and are committed to helping our students develop the virtues of honesty, integrity, and respect for the dignity and uniqueness of man. Schools of Nursing and Midwifery staff believe that learning and teaching are interactive, and therefore encourage students to assume active responsibilities for their learning.


About Us
  |  Contact Us    

Copyright © 2008 -2014 Government of The Republic of Trinidad and Tobago